Responses to my Blog-Pause for thought

Standard

Hi There,

I’ve copied the responses I received below and then given my views. What I need is a pause for thought to clarify whether my concerns are justified then send a further Blog early next year.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/14 at 14:06 Michael Brull

The whole Middle East situation very frightening and the only winners will be the sellers of Toyotas and heavy machine guns to mount on them.

When one reads history it shows religious leaders made use of Kings for their own ends and vice versa.

Overpopulation is the main problem. Dropping a few Atomic Bombs might solve that problem but hopefully someone will come up with a better solution.

Response

Dear Michael,

I’m pleased that you felt able to respond to what I wrote. The views you expressed show we both fear for the future of the Middle East, with poor leadership and dangerous weapons which could destroy the world, I’m not sure that overpopulation is the problem.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/14 at 16:06 John Metcalfe

I visited around the same time, share your concern.

Response

Dear John,

I find it reassuring that my view isn’t unique! My fear is that Israel plans to impose it’s Two State solution soon.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/14 at 16:32 Wrogg

It is eminently clear from prominent Israeli Politicians’ statements, and opinion polls re the forthcoming election that everything is moving in the direction you identify, Steve. There is an Israeli coin which bears a map of Eretz Israel. That was always the plan, meticulously organised. What is happening is the continuation of the 1947 ethnic cleansing of Palestine. Same tactics- everything, only slower until recently, and with ever more sophisticated weapons. 

Reply

Dear Roger,

I agree fully with what you wrote. My current concern is that Israel will impose its Two State solution soon.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/14 at 20:13 Gwyneth Boswell

I have read and appreciated all your blogs Steve. It’s sad but not surprising that your most recent trip has left you so shaken. Just from reading the press and listening to Netanyahu’s speeches, one feels the situation is hopeless. John Kerry, I’m sure, did his level best earlier this year but had to give up. Obama has said some of the right things but what will he actually DO before his Presidency ends – continue supporting and arming Israel, the budding Jewish State? It was, of course, awful about the Synagogue and awful that the Israelis too are frightened. But they are not being brutally occupied, with Plans A or B in the offing. Their fear, together with the damage their stance does to themselves, will not lessen until compassion finds its way into their politics and their hearts. I could go on but it would only be to reiterate more things that those likely to read this already know. I congratulate you on continuing to face and grapple with these profoundly distressing and depressing issues.

Reply

Dear Gwyneth,

Thank you once again for your considered and eloquent response to the blog. As you suggest the situation is bleak, with a continued interplay from mutual fear between Palestinians and Israelis and different accounts of how Israel became a State. This doesn’t bode well for the peace process, my concern is that Israel is about to impose its Two State solution, with the separation wall and settlement blocs included in ‘Eretz Yisrael.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/14 at 22:32 Eli Blum

You should be ashamed, to compare Israel to Nazism.

Reply

Dear Eli,

It’s uncomfortable for me to criticise Israel like I have, however my actions come from a long tradition of Jewish dissenters. I think it would be worse for people like me to remain silent while Israel may be thinking about putting into effect a Two State solution based on borders established by the separation wall and settlement blocs. I’m not ashamed of what I write, I do think that Zionism and Nazism are similar ideologies.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/15 at 10:01 Margaret Page

Hi Steve

That is a brave posting! Interesting t see what comes back. I think you’ve got caught the powerful emotion felt by both sides and from this place access a different knowledge, underneath and beyond the rational, of powerful forces that need t be addressed in order for any negotiations to stick, and for each side to ‘see’ and ‘hear’ their impact on other. There are groups working in this way, in peace negotiations, but it takes huge commitment to stay with the process and leadership of a different kind…

Easy to say, so hard to do.

Margaret.

Reply

Dear Margaret,

I was frightened by my conclusions from what I wrote, with a sense of how powerful Israel is. I agree with what you write about a different leadership being needed for peace negotiations to stick.

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/16 at 14:37 John Heywood

Steve, you paint a very bleak scenario.

Reply

Dear John,

Yes, it’s a bleak scenario and I fear it’s going to get worse before better between the 2 sides. My main concern is that Israel will impose its Two State plan soon.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/18 at 12:10 Frances Heywood

The blog was helpful and moving to me with my Jewish (English and Israeli) relations and own Christian faith,

It was good in a painful way that you experienced directly the fear with which the Israelis live and could say so to your sister. The comparison with the fear experienced by the Palestinians every time they reach a check point was a fair balance. Without your visits and those of Renate, I would not be facing up to what it is like for all these people. I’ll go on praying for peace and taking any chance of Muslim/ Christian/ Jewish dialogue

Frances

Response 19 December 2014

Dear Frances,

Thanks for what you wrote about the effect on you of the blog and the way visits by friends have informed you how it was for them in Palestine. I too pray for peace and dialogue, my dilemma is what response to make to an imminent unilateral action by Israel to appropriate land it currently holds.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/18 at 12:24 Eli Blum

Steve. I wrote to you already that your thesis is worth nothing, if you compare Israel to Nazis. Eli

Response 19 December 2014

Dear Eli,

I can’t agree with what you wrote above. As you will read in the next response to my blog Alan agrees with my view that Zionism and Nazism are similar ideologies.

Regards,

Steve.

Submitted on 2014/12/19 at 09:59 Alan Arnstein

The Zionist ideology that created and sustains Israel, and the on-going land grab by settlers has for a long time reminded me of the South Africa I grew up in. Behind the Afrikaans nationalist slogan “separate but equal” was a vicious racist state – in fact during the 40s, a former SA prime minister was an unashamed Nazi supporter. If Israel stops paying even lip service to the protection of minorities, and openly becomes a Jewish nation, it cannot avoid the comparison with Nazi Germany. A tribal/racist ideology such as apartheid or Zionism already has within its genes the potential for acts of genocide, and Israel is poised near the top of that particular slope. So well done Steve for uttering the N-word.  Zionists need to begin hearing it from Jews.

Response 19 December 2014

Dear Alan,

Your response reassured me that I’m not the only Jew who thinks that Zionism and Nazism are similar ideologies! As I already wrote my dilemma is what response to make to an imminent unilateral action by Israel to appropriate land it currently holds.

Regards,

Steve.

 

Leave a Reply

